Away with the champs: Jan Ullrich

Jan Ullrich

There is not much to say about Jan, for he is a legend. He is the first and only German to win the Tour de France, which he did in 1997. Furthermore, until 2006 he had won second place five times and fourth place once. Aside from winning the title of Amateur World Champion in road racing and two World Championship titles in individual time trials, Jan also won gold in road racing and silver in individual time trials during the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney. His victories led him to become Germany’s most popular active athlete; in 1997 he was voted “sportsman of the year”. In 2007 his active career ended for reasons that we are all aware of. To assume responsibility for one’s action is something of a rarity in this sport and is worthy of great respect.

Frank Wörndl

Mr. Efficiency!
During his career Frank never actually won a single World Cup race, however, in 1987 in Crans-Montana he became World Champion in the slalom discipline. During the Olympic Games in 1988 in Calgary he was able to build on his success and won silver (slalom). Between 1979 and 1985, Frank won five German Championships, four of them in the slalom discipline and one in giant slalom. After finishing his career, Frank had worked for Salomon for ten years and during his tenure he gave significant distinction to the development of ski-technology there. In 2000 he joined Völkl holding essentially the same position. Aside from that Frank Wörndl is a tv presenter with Eurosport. Naturally Frank is a brilliant skier, but he is also a top entertainer. For those of you who know him, you’ll know that there is hardly a day that doesn’t go by that he is not in good humor. His repertoire of anecdotes, going back to his time as a world class athlete, seems practically inexhaustible. Go ahead and ask him whether he still has all of his medals!

Away with the champ: Marina Kiehl

Marina Kiehl

Between 1984 and 1987 she won five German Championships. The former Junior World Champion in downhill skiing already participated in the 1984 Olympics in Sarajevo and took a surprise 6th place in downhill racing and 5th place in the giant slalom discipline. One year later she won the World Cup in giant slalom and in 1986 the Super-G. Her greatest victory she achieved during the 1988 Olympic Winter Games in Calgary, where she won the downhill race, ahead of Brigitte Oertli and Karen Percy.

Since ending her active career, Marina has been working as a graphic designer, developing designs for skis for the Japanese ski market and is specialized in creating logos.Marina is a fully certified ski instructor and has a special gift for explaining even complex motion sequence and techniques in a rather perceptive and sensitive way, and is therefore predestined for those of you who may still show some apprehension towards deep powder snow skiing and heli-skiing.

Away with the champs: Jan Ullrich

Jan Ullrich

Über Jan gibt es nicht viel zu sagen, denn er ist eine Legende. Als erster und bisher einziger Deutscher gewann Jan 1997 die Tour de France. Darüber hinaus war er bis 2006 fünfmal Zweiter und einmal Vierter der Tour. Neben einem Titel als Amateurweltmeister im Strassenrennen und zwei gewonnenen Weltmeisterschaften im Einzelzeitfahren wurde Jan ausserdem Olympiasieger im Strassenrennfahren, sowie Olympia-Zweiter im Einzelzeitfahren von Sydney 2000. Seine Siege machten Jan in Deutschland innerhalb kürzester Zeit zum populärsten aktiven Sportler; 1997 wurde er zum Sportler des Jahres gewählt. 2007 beendete Jan seine aktive Laufbahn aus Gründen, die wir alle kennen. In diesem Sport Verantwortung für das eigene Handeln zu übernehmen, ist eine Seltenheit und verdient grössten Respekt.

Frank Wörndl

Mr. Efficiency!
In seiner Karriere gewann Frank zwar kein einziges Weltcuprennen, doch 1987 in Crans-Montana wurde er Weltmeister im Slalom. Bei den Olympischen Spielen 1988 konnte er an den Erfolg anknüpfen und gewann Silber im Slalom. Zwischen 1979 und 1985 gewann Frank fünf Deutsche Meisterschaften, davon vier im Slalom und eine im Riesenslalom. Nach Beendigung seiner Laufbahn arbeitete Frank 10 Jahre für Salomon und prägte dort entscheidend die Entwicklung der Skitechnologie bis er im Jahr 2000 in nahezu gleicher Funktion zu Völkl wechselte. Frank Wörndl ist außerdem Fernsehkommentator bei Eurosport. Natürlich ist Frank ein großartiger Skifahrer, aber er ist auch eine Stimmungskanone! Wer ihn kennt, weiß, dass es kaum einen Tag gibt an dem er nicht gut aufgelegt ist. Sein Repertoire an Anekdoten aus seiner Zeit als Weltklasseathlet ist schier unerschöpflich. Fragen Sie ihn mal, ob er noch alle Medallien hat!

Away with the champ: Marina Kiehl

Marina Kiehl

Zwischen 1984 und 1987 entschied sie fünf Deutsche Meisterschaften für sich. Die ehemalige Juniorenweltmeisterin in der Abfahrt war bereits 1984 bei den olympischen Spielen in Sarajevo dabei und überraschte mit Platz 6 in der Abfahrt und Platz 5 im Riesenslalom. Ein Jahr später gewann sie den Disziplinenweltcup im Riesenslalom und 1986 den im Super-G. Ihren größten Erfolg feierte sie dann bei den Olympischen Winterspielen 1988 in Calgary, als sie vor Brigitte Oertli und Karen Percy die Olympiaabfahrt gewann.

Nach Ihrer aktiven Karriere arbeitete Marina als Grafikerin, entwickelte Skidesign für den japanischen Skimarkt und spezialisierte sich auf die Entwicklung von Logos. Marina ist staatlich geprüfte Skilehrerin und verfügt über das großartige Talent auf sehr einfühlsame Weise auch komplexere Bewegungsabläufe und Techniken erklären zu können und ist prädestiniert für diejenigen unter Ihnen, die noch gewisse Berührungsängste mit den Themen Tiefschneefahren und Heliskiing haben.